Mobile home laws vary across state lines. What may be true for mobile home
lots in Florida, may not be true for lots in Kansas or Washington. Your
rights as a California mobile home owner start with the California Mobile
Home Residency Law (MRL). This law sets up the legal guidelines for anyone
who rents or owns a mobile home or mobile home park. Below are a few examples
of the mobile home owner rights you have under California law.
Leasing and Renting Park Spaces
If a mobile park owner rents you space for your mobile home, he or she
must give you a written rental agreement for a term of at least 12 months.
This agreement can be shorter or longer if you request it and if you and
the park owner agree to those terms. The agreement must also list the
park’s services, fees, rules, conditions, and a copy of the MRL.
Keep a copy of this agreement, as it can tell you if the park owner has
violated any of the terms of the rental agreement. Rental agreements and
leases also cannot be automatically renewed without your permission.
A park owner can cancel your contract for certain reasons. The most important
reason is failing to comply with ordinances or state regulations after
you’ve been warned about them. Likewise, if you were notified of
your violation of park rules and didn't comply with them within 7
days, the park owner can legally terminate your agreement. In some cases,
prostitution and drug dealing, or simply being a nuisance to other residents,
can be grounds for cancellation of your lease or rental agreement.
If you fail to pay rent, you have the right to a 3-day written notice of
your late payment and 5 days before you can be notified of your eviction.
The park owner also needs to let you know 60 days in advance that your
lease has been terminated. Your delinquency payments can be cured within
3 days of the 60-day notice unless you’ve had 3 prior notices of
the same violation during the past year. A legal owner or lienholder can
also cure a default in rent or fees within the first 30 days after the
termination notice, but can only do so twice during a 12-month period.
The mobile home park cannot add additional charges to your utilities bill.
Any utility bills not included in the price of the rent must show the
charges and the meter readings for utility usage. The park owner must
also give you the contact information of any third-party billing company
that processes the park’s utility bills.
The mobile home park must keep the premises safe and in good operation.
The health and safety of all residents should be paramount to management.
Before your move-in date, management must also provide you with a written
notice of the park’s conditions, such as lighting, recreational
areas, and utilities.
To understand the full extent of all laws regarding mobile homes and mobile
home parks, visit the Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities
website. If you think your rights as a mobile home owner have been violated,
contact us and discuss your case with one of our San Diego mobile home