What Are My Rights as a Mobile Home Owner?

|

Mobile home laws vary across state lines. What may be true for mobile home lots in Florida, may not be true for lots in Kansas or Washington. Your rights as a California mobile home owner start with the California Mobile Home Residency Law (MRL). This law sets up the legal guidelines for anyone who rents or owns a mobile home or mobile home park. Below are a few examples of the mobile home owner rights you have under California law.

Leasing and Renting Park Spaces

If a mobile park owner rents you space for your mobile home, he or she must give you a written rental agreement for a term of at least 12 months. This agreement can be shorter or longer if you request it and if you and the park owner agree to those terms. The agreement must also list the park’s services, fees, rules, conditions, and a copy of the MRL. Keep a copy of this agreement, as it can tell you if the park owner has violated any of the terms of the rental agreement. Rental agreements and leases also cannot be automatically renewed without your permission.

Eviction

A park owner can cancel your contract for certain reasons. The most important reason is failing to comply with ordinances or state regulations after you’ve been warned about them. Likewise, if you were notified of your violation of park rules and didn't comply with them within 7 days, the park owner can legally terminate your agreement. In some cases, prostitution and drug dealing, or simply being a nuisance to other residents, can be grounds for cancellation of your lease or rental agreement.

If you fail to pay rent, you have the right to a 3-day written notice of your late payment and 5 days before you can be notified of your eviction. The park owner also needs to let you know 60 days in advance that your lease has been terminated. Your delinquency payments can be cured within 3 days of the 60-day notice unless you’ve had 3 prior notices of the same violation during the past year. A legal owner or lienholder can also cure a default in rent or fees within the first 30 days after the termination notice, but can only do so twice during a 12-month period.

Utilities

The mobile home park cannot add additional charges to your utilities bill. Any utility bills not included in the price of the rent must show the charges and the meter readings for utility usage. The park owner must also give you the contact information of any third-party billing company that processes the park’s utility bills.

Park Facilities

The mobile home park must keep the premises safe and in good operation. The health and safety of all residents should be paramount to management. Before your move-in date, management must also provide you with a written notice of the park’s conditions, such as lighting, recreational areas, and utilities.

To understand the full extent of all laws regarding mobile homes and mobile home parks, visit the Senate Select Committee on Manufactured Home Communities website. If you think your rights as a mobile home owner have been violated, contact us and discuss your case with one of our San Diego mobile home park attorneys.

Categories: